HAPCO Sees Tenant Education As Key To Avoiding Eviction Court

Philadelphia’s rental and investment property owners’ association says financial guidance and education can help tenants avoid winding up in the City’s eviction court.

HAPCO members go to great lengths to make sure prospective and current tenants find low to moderate income housing they can afford, before signing a lease.  

HAPCO president Harvey Spear notes that a majority of cases in landlord-tenant court are because tenants fall behind in their rent.  By counseling and teaching tenants to maintain a realistic household budget, Spear says it helps prevent tenants’ rent from outstripping their income.

Spear also says the proposed City Eviction Court Bill should prioritize funds to give tenants advice, education and training to keep them from falling behind on rent, instead of just paying for eviction court attorneys when it’s too late.  And funds should be used to help tenants pay rent until they get caught up.

“By addressing the causes of unpaid rent up front, HAPCO and their renters can work together to keep them in their apartments, instead of just evicting them,” Spear says.

HAPCO notes that avoiding eviction court allows rental property owners to spend money on maintenance and renovation, instead of on legal fees.  And it also helps rental & investment property owners continue to provide low to moderate income housing. 

“The City can also help HAPCO identify whether a renter is just a bad tenant through a mediation process, before automatically paying for an eviction court attorney,” Spear adds.

###

Let your voice be heard about “Counseling, Not Court” by forwarding HAPCO”s Eviction Court Statement to your Philadelphia City Council Members:

AT-LARGE 

Councilwoman Blondell Reynolds Brown

215-686-3438

blondell.reynolds.brown@phila.gov  

Councilman Allan Domb

215-686-3414

allan.domb@phila.gov

Councilman Derek Green

(215) 686-3450

derek.green@phila.gov

Councilman William Greenlee

(215) 686-3446

bill.greenlee@phila.gov

Councilwoman Helen Gym

(215) 686-3420

helen.gym@phila.gov 

Councilman David Oh

(215) 686-3452

david.oh@phila.gov 

Councilman Al Taubenberger

(215) 686-3440

al.taubenberger@phila.gov 

DISTRICT ONE

Councilman Mark Squilla

(215) 686-3458

mark.squilla@phila.gov 

DISTRICT TWO

Councilman Kenyatta Johnson

(215) 686-3412

kenyatta.johnson@phila.gov 

DISTRICT THREE

Councilwoman Jannie Blackwell

(215) 686-3418

jannie.l.blackwell@phila.gov

DISTRICT FOUR

Councilman Curtis Jones, Jr.

(215) 686-3416

curtis.jones.jr@phila.gov 

DISTRICT FIVE

Council President Darrell Clarke

(215) 686-3442

darrell.clarke@phila.gov 

DISTRICT SIX

Councilman Bobby Henon

(215) 686-3444

bobby.henon@phila.gov 

DISTRICT SEVEN

Councilwoman Maria D. Quinones-Sanchez

(215) 686-3448

maria.q.sanchez@phila.gov

DISTRICT EIGHT

Councilwoman Cindy Bass

(215) 686-3424

cindy.bass@phila.gov

DISTRICT NINE

Councilwoman Cherelle Parker

(215) 686-3454

cherelle.parker@phila.gov 

DISTRICT TEN

Minority Leader Brian J. O’Neill

(215) 686-3422

brian.oneill@phila.gov    

Leave a Comment